Midsummer things

Old-fashioned spiraea that always reminds me of the gardens I played in as a child. I always think its peculiarly dark pinks and greens vibrate together even at midday in the glaring sun.

Broad beans with borage. I don’t know about other gardens, but here borage grows like a weed. Seemingly every borage seed germinates and every seedling thrives. You have to be ruthless. I’m too much of a softie: it wins me over every time with its hairy exuberance and the promise of bees on the starry blue (edible) flowers. Lore says let it grow by your beans to bring in the bees. 

Lush vegetable patch with last year’s forgotten onions kinking up to explode into flower.

Gooseberries for more childhood memories. My recipe for gooseberry fool. 1. Make loads of custard. 2. Stew loads of gooseberries (about 10 minutes). 3. Mix the two together until thoroughly combined. 4. Allow to cool. 5. Yum. 

I’ve just remembered that we used to call them goosegogs. 

Noblewomen of froth! Queen-of-the-meadows and lady’s mantle. 

About ballsofwool

knitter, mum, thinker
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

